Superstars of athletics on hunt for 26 Diamond Trophies at Letzigrund Stadium

Numerous Olympic, world and European champions will treat the Letzigrund Stadium crowd to an action-packed night of athletics at the Wanda Diamond League Final on Thursday. As many as 26 Diamond Trophies are up for grabs.

Weltklasse Zürich is living up to its name once again: 19 reigning Olympic champions, 21 world champions and 20 European champions in individual events are gathering to compete in Zurich on Thursday night. After two championships this summer, they are getting ready to treat stadium visitors and viewers at home to many rematches and spectacular performances.

The 100m hurdles, for instance, will be particularly sparkling highlight. The race includes the reigning Olympic Champion (Jasmine Camacho-Quinn/PUR), the world champion and world record holder (Tobi Amusan/NGR), the new European champion (Pia Skrzyszowska/POL), a former world record holder (Kendra Harrison/USA) and a former world champion (Nia Ali/USA). The women’s 1500m boast a similarly star-studded line-up: Faith Kipyegon (Olympic and world champion/KEN) will challenge Gudaf Tsegay (5000m world champion/ETH) and Laura Muir (European champion/GBR).

Two of the many stars at Weltklasse Zürich will try to continue their own impressive series: Discus thrower Kristjan Čeh (SLO) is the only athlete who managed to win all Diamond League competitions this season. And Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN) hopes for a sixth consecutive Diamond League Final win.

Many Swiss athletes on this year’s entry lists

This year’s entry lists feature an impressive number of Swiss athletes. They, too, are getting ready to shine on Zurich’s "magic track" Fans are setting their hopes on the new 200m European champion and a world championship bronze medallist in the long jump, for instance: Mujinga Kambundji and Simon Ehammer will try to outrun and outjump their illustrious opponents. Kambundji will be facing 200m world champion Shericka Jackson (JAM), while decathlete Ehammer is out to challenge long jump world champion Miltiadis Tentoglou (GRE). In addition to them, eight Swiss athletes will be lining up at Letzigrund Stadium, including Ricky Petrucciani (400 m), Jason Joseph (110m h), Julien Bonvin (400m h), Dominik Alberto (pole vault), Lore Hoffmann (800m), Ditaji Kambundji (100m h), Chiara Scherrer (3000m SC) and Annik Kälin (long jump).

View event previews

Subscribe to Weltklasse Zürich newsletter

Benefit as a Weltklasse Zürich Friend – such as right of first refusal for stadium tickets for 2024. Register with your e-mail: